The operations and business of MUD 127 are managed through a Board of Directors.  There are five directors who serve four-year terms.  Individuals may initially be appointed to fill a vacancy, but upon completion of a term must stand for election.  Effective dates of terms are staggered, and elections are held in even years, generally in November.

The Board is responsible for securing the services of a water system operator, a district engineer, a bookkeeper, solid waste disposal contractor, financial advisor, tax assessor/collector, and other service providers as needed. The Board also sets the MUD’s property tax rate each year.

MUD Directors must be at least 18 years old, a resident citizen of the State of Texas, and either own land subject to taxation in the district or be a qualified voter within the district.Each director receives a “fee of office” equal to $150 per day for the time that s/he actively engages in the business of the district. As of June 2019, the following five directors reside in the district and are serving on the Board:

  • Maureen Herzog, President (Term ends 11/04/2026)
  • Simona Brooks, Vice President (Term ends 11/5/2024)
  • Katrina Ortega, Secretary (Term ends 11/5/2024)
  • Don Baylor, Assistant Secretary (Term ends 11/5/2024)
  • Kate Zamora, Director/Security Liaison (Term ends 11/04/2026)


Monday, December 12, 2022 at 12:00 PM

Agenda (PDF)

The District’s Board of Directors generally meets on the second Monday of the month at noon at the office of Strawn & Richardson, 1155 Dairy Ashford, Suite 875, Houston, Texas 77079.